Randomness · Uncategorized

The Mix Tape, Side A

So the wafflings yesterday got me thinking about musical histories and what would be on my ultimate mix tape if I were to go back in time and compile a background soundtrack for my life.

Whilst boy bands with dubious musical talents and MacLean’s Whitening smiles were the order of the day through our tweens, the dawning realisation that there was more to the musical spectrum than the neatly packaged white-suited overly choreographed offerings was an exciting stage.

While it causes a bit of cringe now, at the time my first celebrity crush, Morten Harket from A-ha, was the epitome of hotness.  Why yes, Morten, indeed you should Take On Me.  Not that I would’ve had a clue about what exactly was being taken on.  And I still can’t figure out what he’s screeching at the end of the chorus…”I’ll be gone….in a wheeeaffooooooooo?”  That being said, what’s not to love about flippy fringes from Oslo?

My first boyfriend.
My first boyfriend

Following hot on the heels of such synthpop glory came the 80’s Hair Bands Days.  Bon Jovi.  Poison and Motley Crue, Def Leppard, and Skid Row.  Such glorious manes, such pretty rebels.   Splendid music, obviously.  As for Guns n’ Roses, well, Axl was a prince amongst men.  Granted, he now looks more like Liberace’s son, but still, the man knew how to rock a bandana.  November Rain remains forever on my Desert Island Disc line-up.

And as we wombled onwards towards the complicated late teens and early 20’s, grunge pretty much defined every moment.  Apart from the ones devoted to the Spice Girls, obviously.

My possible favourite song of all time?  Runaway Train.  Soul Asylum.  Superstars.  They, along with Pearl Jam, Smashing Pumpkins, Candlebox and Soundgarden, provided the soundtrack to my late teens.  They say that music has the power to transport the listener to past times and emotions, and that is certainly true.  My introduction to Soul Asylum came through a friend, and even now I’ll think of him when the first drum beats kick off the song.  Granted, I had a massive crush on him at the time, but clearly music transcends the temptations of twinkly eyes and floppy hair.  I think I still have the CD he lent me somewhere around the place.  I probably should return that.  It’s only been 20 years, after all.

Good grief.  20 years.  Now I feel REALLY old.  And clearly my thing for long-locked men lasted quite some time.  My father must’ve despaired.  Poor man.  Still, I suppose it could’ve been worse.  That was before the bald-head-heavily-tattoed phase.  But that is clearly a subject for another day.  And the B Side of that imaginary mix tape.

If you could put together a mix tape offering of your life to date, what would stand out?  Would love to hear from you!

Happy Wednesday, lovelies!

Signature
One thought on “The Mix Tape, Side A

Leave a Reply

